Information on Chakra Healing, Colors and Crystals
RSS icon Email icon
  • What Do We Mean By The Colors Of Chakras?

    If you’ve ever been approached by a stranger commenting positively on your aura, perhaps even going as far as to say that you’re surrounded by a powerful energy, then they’re probably sensing the strong synergy created by your good chakra balance.

    Some People Are Lucky, Others Need To Practice Chakra Balance

    While in a few lucky people, the balance of this energy is nearly perfectly occuring naturally, you can embrace some simple techniques in chakra balancing which will help you positively radiate energy. As you become more aware and in control of this energy, you’ll find that you are more adept at identifying others who have well synchronized chakras too.

    Chakras, Colors And Energy Flow

    Your chakras control the flow of energy around these seven energy points, each represented by different chakra colors, which some believe are entirely real, and others believe are philosophical representations of the sources of energy in our life and lifestyles. It matters not in which camp you sit, the important point is that the energy is able to be controlled, and by being able to focus on individual sources which affect different aspects of your life, you can take control of even the most challenging situations.

    Female With Chakra Symbols

    The body has a number of energy sources, each represented by a chakra color and symbol.

    It also stands to reason that your overall health will improve as a result of good chakra balancing, as being in control of our destiny closely correlates with happiness, and happier people tend to be healthier than people who are stressed or down on life. As each chakra, or energy source, is represented by a color, we can visually represent the stronger and weaker chakras in order to help us understand clearly where we need to work to get our bodily energy in sync.

    Understanding The Theory Behind Color Therapy

    As we have established, we can represent our chakras with color, which we will go into more detail about in a moment. It’s important, before we do that, to recognise that there is not only a relationship between a chakra energy source and a color, but also between that chakra and its related physical body part which translates into an aspect of life. This can be considered an unbreakable triangle, and as the chakra representation we are considering is color, it can be useful to think of a prism emitting different colors as a reminder, a three sided triangle from one side, but shine light through it and you get a rainbow of color when it is well aligned.

    As we said earlier, much chakra theory is about visualisation, so this prism of light emitting beauty is a great mental image to focus on. So, let’s move on to the colors themselves, which are often laid out in chart form to link up the chakra, its color and the influence it carries on a chakra chart.

    The Red Chakra

    The base (root) chakra is represented by the color red. It is situated at the bottom of the spinal cord, and is the energy source that provides a connection to the physical universe we live in. This allows our sense of reality to keep our feet on the ground.

    The Orange Chakra

    Located near the crotch, the sacral chakra is shown by an orange glow. As you might guess, it relates to fertility, reflecting its location in the body.

    The Yellow Chakra

    This energy emitter is called the solar plexus. It provides and dictates our inner power, willpower if you will. Due to its location, it is also often examined in relation to discomfort of the stomach and nearby organs. As it is so closely connected to willpower, it is also responsible for anger.

    The Green Chakra

    Most closely linked to our physical core, the green source is the heart chakra. Opening this energy source will often allow you to address affairs of the heart, as well as the bodily functions relating to the lungs and circulation and of course the heart itself.

    The Blue Chakra

    The blue throat chakra is found in the throat, so is associated with your voice and hearing. It allows you to make spiritual connections outside your body. It is also the chakra most associated with the arms, hands and fingers.

    The Indigo Chakra

    Being level headed and having peace of mind are features of the indigo chakra, also known as your third eye. It allows the perception of the deepest thoughts to come through, so is a direct route to the subconscious  For this reason, it is of particular interest to hypnotists as a calming route into the trance-like state.

    The Violet Chakra

    Finally, our central nervous system (CNS) is governed by the crown chakra, the violet colored seventh chakra. It connects the subconscious energy of the indigo source to the rational evaluation achievable by the brain and the spiritual connections of the blue fifth chakra.

    Chakra Balancing As A Healer

    Fluctuations in the balance of your chakra colors will both influence and be influenced by your mood, the external pressures upon your body such as stress, heat and daily tasks you undertake, and it will also be susceptible to other’s behavior that you are aware of either consciously or subconsciously. You can also use meditation techniques in order to help with chakra balancing, and it will help you with seeing the colors clearly. To improve both physical complaints and encourage mental and spiritual growth, you must achieve a finely tuned array of chakra colors, which ultimately indicate all the chakras that operate in your body are doing so with synergy too.

    If you struggle to differentiate between the body’s energy through meditation, you might like to consider a chakra test, which may help you to identify suitable therapies, including chakra stones or bracelets. By achieving the equilibrium of each of the seven, your body will find a natural state of balance, and be better placed to heal and remain in healthy balance.